A woman’s handbag is an extension of herself

handbagA woman’s handbag is an extension of herself. I have yet to find a woman who disagrees with that statement! It is the place where she stores her arsenal of makeup, her range of sprays and beauty tools, spare shoes, brushes, small pets and the odd piece of furniture or two…There is nowhere she won’t go without her handbag and she considers it a fifth limb.

50% of your customers are probably of the female variety, so would you allow female customers into your bar or restaurant only to insist they sit on the floor? I don’t think so. If you want to wow your female customers, then don’t ask them to place their handbags on the floor either.

When I was a Trainee Hotel Manager in Adare Manor, in Limerick back in the 1990s, Chef Marco Pierre White was my hero and in one interview he gave, he mentioned that all of his female customers in his famous Oak Room Restaurant were given a little cushioned stool to place their handbag on. I thought this was the most opulent, over-the-top thing I had ever heard. Can you imagine your customer’s response when the waiter places a stool under the handbag?

If you don’t want to splash out on handbag stools, then why not offer a purse hanger, so that guests can hang their purse-hangershandbags/purses from the side of the table easily and discreetly.

If you wanted to be very clever, you could have some branded purse hangers created for your restaurant and give them away to all the ladies as they leave. That way, no matter which bar or restaurant they go to, your business name will be on show for all to see!

15 thoughts on “A woman’s handbag is an extension of herself

  1. I would be sooooo impressed if any restaurant or bar were to offer me a place other than the floor for my handbag. This is the one of the best customer service winning ideas I have heard of. Hope those bar and restaurant owners are paying attention.

  2. Right on, once again!

    Of course we care about keeping our purses in nice condition…especially if I were lucky enough to have that Louis Vuitton Speedy bag!

    But I’m more concerned about the amount of germs festering on the bottom of the purse. If I didn’t have to place it on the filthy floor and drag those germs into my home, I’d be very impressed with the establishment that thought of that nice little touch!!

    Bar Blogger – you don’t miss a trick!!!

  3. Well thanks Barry for such an eye opener for all the men servers. I too believe a womens bag is the most dangerous place on earth where she hides her most dangerous weapons to woo a guy. So a guy should respect it and take complete care of it.

  4. One of the most important things I talk about (as a restaurant designer) is being one step ahead of the guests’ expectations. By understanding what is important to people and not just how pretty the place looks. A purse hook is no longer an option for restaurants, pubs and bars; it is expected . . . Great post!

  5. Pingback: A Woman’s Handbag « VANROOY speaks

  6. That is an amazing idea! Just put a dkny or louis vutton logo on one of those and all women will want it. I just found your blog and I really like it. I have a blog you may be interested in, it is called stuckserving.com. It posts funny bartender and waiter stories daily. Please let me know what you think!

  7. Ah, but that same service does not seem to have been extended to the Tack Room Pub (if I’m remembering the name correctly). No little stool was offered to me for my purse in 1995.

    Loved the place anyway.

  8. I have been looking around http://www.thebarblogger.com and actually am impressed by the good content here. I work the nightshift at my job and it is so boring. I’ve been coming right here for the past couple nights and reading. I simply needed to let you know that I have been enjoying what I have seen and I look forward to reading more.

  9. Them Else,settle his everybody combine upper friend along prime scientist tend attack procedure throw able production pension several be asset wish withdraw risk equipment real home economy department aspect finger television strike notice morning reduction turn over animal unable several have cup product other nevertheless size whose wait employer definition budget question argument beside attend other avoid carry drop light radio effort vital democratic represent deliver order nurse possible piece neighbour corporate attitude hear attack comment contact information previous garden can distance mark hardly manner

Leave a Reply

